Banana & Walnut Wheat Pancakes!


Growing up, I hated…I repeat hated nights when my mom would say breakfast for dinner! My sisters grew up loving it & used to actually get excited about it, I on the other hand couldn’t stand it. Mainly, because there was never really any breakfast foods that I enjoyed. I definitely ranked it number 3 out of my 3 daily meals. It wasn’t until recently that I actually craved pancakes or Belgium waffles :) I like pancakes & waffles because you can get creative. Pancakes you can add whatever you want into the batter, and waffles you can add whatever toppings you want. Tonight, I made very healthy banana & walnut wheat pancakes adapted from http://www.skinnytaste.com. Yum!

What you will need:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2  tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large banana, very ripe, mashed
  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • butter flavor cooking spray

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl.

Combine milk, egg white and mashed bananas in a bowl and mix until smooth. Combine wet ingredients with the dry and mix well with a spoon until there are no more dry spots. Don’t over-mix.

Heat a large skillet on medium heat. Spray oil to lightly coat and pour 1/4 cup of pancake batter.

When the pancake starts to bubble and the edges begin to set, flip the pancakes. Repeat with the remainder of the batter.

Time to Eat :)

bon appetit!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Banana & Walnut Wheat Pancakes!

  1. R.Y.A.N

    I dont usually do breakfast for din ITHER butt Im all about nuts and naners on me some FlapJACKS with sizzurp

Leave a Reply

